Voting Instructions

Returning Your Ballot Electronically:

Do Not Mail Your Ballot if You Plan to Return Electronically. Access options:

- Sign-in using your IEEE Web Account at https://voting.vtools.ieee.org/
- Click where it says "Click here to vote on a ballot"
- Select the 2021 Orlando Section Annual Election Ballot
- Click "Vote" under the column "Action" and follow the instructions

Returning Your Ballot by Mail:

- Return the Entire Signed Ballot using the reply envelope
- Do not detach or cut the ballot.

Candidate Names and Details (biography, reasons for running, etc.)

IEEE Orlando Section Chair, 2022 - Varadraj "Raj" Prabhu Gurupur: Varadraj Gurupur is currently working as an Associate Professor with the School of Health Management and Informatics with the University of Central Florida (UCF). He is also the founding member of the Decision Support Systems and Informatics Lab at UCF. Dr. Gurupur received his Doctoral degree in Computer Engineering from the University of Alabama at Birmingham in 2010. He has been actively involved with IEEE since 2009 and was elevated to senior member in 2017. He served as a conference chair for the IEEE Orlando section in 2018, as the secretary in 2019 and as a Vice Chair in 2020. He has been serving as the chair for the section since January 2021 and is contesting for one more term. In this term he wants to progress the section by connecting chapters, societies, and affinity groups within the section. Additionally, he would also like to engage members in various activities with the section; thereby, ensuring membership retention.

IEEE Orlando Section Vice Chair, 2022 - Masood Ejaz: Masood Ejaz is the chair of Electrical and Computer Engineering Technology department at Valencia College. He has also been serving as the counselor for the IEEE Valencia College student chapter for the past 8 years. Ejaz has an M.S. and a Ph.D. in Electrical Engineering from Florida State University, and a B.S. in Electrical Engineering from N.E.D. University of Engineering and Technology, Karachi, Pakistan. Ejaz's research interests are in the fields of Signal Processing and Neural Networks. Ejaz is also actively involved in volunteering his time to the stem field. He has been serving as a judge for Dr. Nelson Ying Orange County Science Exposition for high schools, and as a judge for a local high school science fair and science symposium events for the past many years. If elected, he will serve the Orlando IEEE section with the best of his ability.

IEEE Orlando Section Treasurer, 2022 - Joe Juisai: Joe Juisai has previously served as Treasurer of the IEEE Orlando Section in 2002 and of the IEEE Florida Council in 2007. He looks to step back into the Treasurer position in 2022. Although it has been 20 years since Joe was section treasurer, he looks forward to assisting the section as IEEE moves to the NextGen Financials platform, which will provide transparency for section financial health. Joe plans on working with section officers, chapter and affinity group officers, and student branch chairs to allocate section support funding so that you, as IEEE members, find value in IEEE membership. He also wishes to document best practices around the NextGen Financials platform to lessen the learning burden for society chapters with NextGen banking accounts and future treasurers.

IEEE Orlando Section Secretary, 2022 - Hala ElAarag: Hala ElAarag is a professor of computer science at Stetson University, Deland, Florida. She is a senior member of ACM and IEEE and former president of the Consortium of Computing Sciences in Colleges. She received her Ph.D. degree in Computer Science from the University of Central Florida in 2001, her M.Sc. and B.Sc. from Alexandria University in 1991, 1989 respectively. She has obtained Stetson University McEniry Award for Outstanding Teaching in 2021, Florida Council IEEE Outstanding Engineering Educator Award in 2020, IEEE Orlando Chapter Outstanding Engineering Educator Award in 2019. She was cogeneral chair of Communication and Networking Simulation Symposium 2009 and 2015-2019. She was a Program Chair and a board member of Consortium of Computing Sciences in Colleges Southeastern Region (2011-2013). She served as Vice President/President Elect of the Consortium of Computing Sciences in Colleges 2014-2016 and President 2016-2018. Dr. ElAarag was Vice General Chair and General Chair of Society for Modeling and Simulation International (SCS) Spring Simulation Multiconference 2011 and 2012, respectively. She was a National Councilor of the Mathematics and Computer Sciences Division of the Council on Undergraduate Research (CUR) 2011-2014. She serves on the technical committee for many international conferences and reviews for multiple journals.